• 可可制品是从哪里来的?

    在哪里能发现可可的踪影?
    Cocoa Intro

  • 第一步。 分布

    可可树大多出现于炎热多雨的热带地区,适合在赤道20度纬度内的区域生长。它的成熟期并不限于一年中的某段时间,通常可在任何时候,连续几个月持续收获可可果实。

    第二步。 成长

    未成熟的可可豆荚有多种颜色,最常见的是绿色,红色或紫色。随着果实逐渐的成熟,它们的颜色会变成橙色或黄色。与其他树木不同的是,可可豆荚是直接从树干上生长出来的,而不是结在树枝的末端,这使得它更容易被果民手工收获。

    Cocoa Introduction

    第三步。收割

    可可豆的收获工作极为耗费人力。在西非,普通小型的可可农场到了收获的时候都需要全家出动再呼朋唤友来帮忙。果民用栓在杆子上的柴刀从树干上切下豆荚,并注意不能损坏枝干交界的地方,因为之后这里还会长出可可豆。妇女们通常头顶着硕大的草篮子负责收集豆荚。

    Cocoa Intro

    第四步。 发酵

    接着这些堆积起来的豆荚准备被拆分。打开之后可可原豆和荚浆都被掏了出来,堆积成堆的放置几天。在这期间荚浆和原豆将经历重要的 “发汗”的过程 – 厚厚的荚浆会逐渐发酵并液化,流淌下来之后便只留下所需要的可可原豆。这“发汗”过程对于原本有强烈苦味的原豆质量有着至关重要作用。如果没有正确地进行,可能导致可可原豆不可食用。

  • 第五步。 干燥

    接着这些潮湿的原豆将接受发酵和干燥的过程。这也是诱发原豆诱人的巧克力香味的重要阶段。原豆将会发酵4至7天,再干燥5至14天。最后,这些可可豆经过加入红土一起翻炒之后,便可以准备装运送至不同的国家,如美国,英国,荷兰等国家进行加工。

    Cocoa Intro

    第六步。 烘焙

    可可豆运到巧克力工厂之后,会加以烘烤直至破裂并去壳。之后所得到的产物被称为可可豆粒。可可豆粒经过研磨之后变成粘稠丝滑的豆浆,俗称巧克力浆或可可糊。用这种浆加入可可脂和糖,和其他佐料,制作成不同风味的巧克力。

    Cocoa Intro

• How did cocoa products come about?

    Where can cocoa be found in the world?
    Cocoa Introduction

  • Step 1. location

    Cocoa trees grow in hot, rainy tropical areas within 20 degrees of latitude from the equator. Harvesting is not restricted to one period per year and usually takes place over months and can be done at any time of the year.

    Step 2. growth

    Immature cocoa pods have a variety of colors, most often green, red or purple. As they mature, their color tends to change towards orange or yellow. Unlike other trees, the cocoa pods grows directly from the trunk of a tree rather than from the end of a branch. This makes it easier for farmers to harvest it by hand.

    Cocoa Introduction

    Step 3. harvesting

    Harvesting of the cocoa pods is extremely labor intensive. Farmers cut the high pods from the trees with large knives attached to poles, taking care not to damage the junction of the stem with the tree as this is where future flower and pods will emerge. The women of the family is usually in charge of collecting the pods in large baskets which they balance on top of their heads.

    Cocoa Intro

    Step 4. fermentation

    These pods are then piled up and prepared for splitting. Once split, the pulp and cocoa seeds are removed then piled into heaps and laid out for days. The fermented pulp trickles away, leaving the cocoa seeds to be collected. The sweating process is crucial for the quality of the beans which originally have a strong bitter taste. If not performed properly, the cocoa may be ruined.

  • Step 5. drying

    Next the wet beans undergo fermentation and drying. This prepares the beans for sale and is an important stage in the development of the delicious chocolate flavor. Upon fermentation for 4 to 7 days, the beans are dried for another 5 to 14 days. Finally, the beans are trodden and shuffled about while red clay is being mixed in so as to prepare the beans for its final stages before shipment to countries such as United States, United Kingdom, Netherlands and other countries.

    Cocoa Intro

    Step 6. roasting

    In the chocolate factory, the beans are roasted before they are cracked and de-shelled. The resulting product is called cocoa nibs. The nibs are then ground into a thick creamy paste commonly known as chocolate liquor or cocoa paste. This “liquor” is then processed into chocolate by adding in cocoa butter and sugar before being refined, conched and tempered into a chocolate bar.

    Cocoa Intro